Brits Learn to Save at Aldi

I’ve been an Aldi shopper for several years now. It’s one of the reasons I live in the suburbs. Today’s Daily Mail in the UK featured a story about a mom who tried her weekly shopping at Aldi and discovered that her weekly bill was cut in half:

Suddenly, I hear a familiar voice booming out across the store. It is one of the mothers from my daughter’s private prep school, trying to organise a skiing trip on her mobile phone.

When she spots me, she leaps behind a tower of discount tins. But I am not ashamed to be shopping in Aldi. Far from it – my trolley is laden with 46 items, my usual weekly mixture of fresh meat, pizzas, fruit, vegetables, kitchen and bath cleaners, pasta and drinks.

An almost identical trolley cost me £120 last week. Today, my total bill for the week is just £45. An astonishing saving of £75 with just one shopping trip. I have saved more money than I’d thought possible.

Perhaps frugality is an American trait, but I love Aldi. I’ve always been impressed with their food and brands. I’ve started using their makeup and actually like their eye shadow better than more expensive brands. Their Fit & Active healthy food line is comprable to Weight Watchers/Healthy Choice but at a fraction of the cost. One of my main questions in this couponing journey has been if I can beat Aldi’s prices?

According to the Daily Mail, the quality of Aldi’s products is actually better than name brands:

The children have wolfed down their Aldi breakfast cereals and declare them to be as good as their usual Kellogg’s.

But while they like the taste of most of the food, I want to know just how healthy this budget fare is – so I ask nutritionist Angela Dowden to help.

She inspects the ingredients of everything I have purchased – in particular, the salt, fat and sugar levels.

Both Amanda and a leading nutritionist were impressed with how healthy Aldi products are

The results are rather surprising. Angela declares that the cheap Aldi own brands are as healthy, or even healthier, than leading makes which cost far more money.

For example, the Aldi Swedish meatballs which cost me £1.59 (£3.39 cheaper than the equivalent amount of my usual Swedish Kitchen Organic Meatballs) actually contain 15 per cent less saturated fat than my usual organic favourites.

Angela says: ‘I’m impressed by the 91 per cent pork content. In similar products, the highest meat content I’ve seen is just 75 per cent.’

Angela adds: ‘Quiche is not a healthy option, but there’s no skimping on ingredients with Aldi, despite the small price. In fact, the nine per cent whipping cream puts it on a par with premium quiches.

P.S. As an anglophile, I love how Aldi in the UK looks identical to US stores.
1 Comment

Filed under Aldi

One response to “Brits Learn to Save at Aldi

  1. frugalfriends

    I love Aldi too!
    So nice to discover another local frugal DC-area blogger who shares an appreciation for Aldi.
    Looking forward to keeping up with your blog!
    Laura

Leave a Reply

